Summary of parts one and two

  1. We humans (and most living beings) have a double set of chromosomes (= diploid). And that’s essentially true of most creatures, especially animals.
    2. We humans produce, like all sexually reproducing organisms, germ cells (= gametes). These have only half a chromosome set (= haploid). The process of producing four haploid cells from a diploid cell is called meiosis (or reduction division).
    3. We produce two different types of germ cells, sperm cells (small, motile) and oocytes (large, immobile). This applies to ALL animals. Other groups of organisms also produce different germ cells (always two), or they produce equivalent germ cells (isogamy), where always two merge into one zygote (but isogamy is generally uninteresting for humans and animals).
    4. Living beings undergo a change in the haploid and diploid phase (= biological life cycle) in their lives. Depending on the type one phase outweighs the other phase. In humans and all animals the diploid phase dominates (= diplonts).
    5. Each germ cell production coincides with a “germ cell production site”. Sperm is produced in animals in testicles, oocytes in ovaries. This is also associated with the proliferation of germ cells (internal or external fertilization, ovarian apparatus, penis, etc.).
    6. If there are living things that have three or more sets of chromosomes (= polyploid), they are a special case due to disorders during meiosis. But always two types of germ cells are created.

… weiterlesen